Back to site

MARTIRIA (feat. Vinny Appice): "R-evolution" STANDARD CD

Image of MARTIRIA (feat. Vinny Appice): "R-evolution" STANDARD CD


This is the standard CD "R-evolution" by Martiria, featuring legendary drummer Vinny Appice (Black Sabbath, Dio, Heaven & Hell, Kill Devil Hill).

The release celebrates the 10th anniversary of Martiria's first album release "The Eternal Soul" in 2004.

Based in Rome, Martiria was originally formed in 1987, focusing mainly on doom metal. After several years delay whilst the members pursued alternative projects, the band re-grouped in 2002, released the debut album in 2004 and a further 4 albums up to and including 2012's "Roma S.P.Q.R." A small number of line-up changes occurred through these years - former members include Rick Anderson (Warlord) - culminating in the 2013 line-up which has recorded the new release....

Andy Menario (guitar and keyboards), Flavio Cosma (vocals), Derek Maniscalco (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), Marco R. Capelli (lyrics).

Music written by Andy Menario. Lyrics written by Marco R. Capelli.

Mixed and mastered at Antfarm Studio (Denmark), by producer Tue Madsen (The Haunted, Mnemic, Hatesphere, Ektomorf). Drums recorded at Freedom Studio (USA) by Thomas Le Blanc.

The resulting style of "R-evolution" is a combination of the band's original doom metal vision including references to the sounds of Candlemass and Black Sabbath, mixed with the uplifting influences of classic and power metal. There's drama and poerty in the superb vocals and lyrics, whilst the soundscape is epic and moving. Finally, of course the drumming of Vinny Appice adds a further dimension of undeniable quality.

The relationship with Vinny Appice was forged when in 2006 both Andy Menario and Marco R. Capelli worked with the drummer on the Power Project, which also featured Carl Sentance (ex-Krokus), Carlos Cavazo (ex-Quiet Riot), and Jeff Pilson (ex-Dokken).